AMOA-NDA Hosts Successful Team Dart Tournament

May 4, 2012

The AMOA-National Dart Association (NDA) held its 27th annual international soft-tip dart tournament at Bally’s in Las Vegas, Nev. on April 13-21. This year Team Dart received more than 12,000 event entrants from six countries competing for over $500,000 in prize money.

This was the second year the Team Dart tournament was held at Bally’s Las Vegas. This location allows for players to experience Las Vegas at a more central location for full vacation benefits. The tournament hall, which is large enough to hold the entire tournament, is located just steps away from Bally’s casino and sleeping rooms.

The tournament is unique compared to all others in that skill levels range from beginners to masters. All participants are classified into levels according to their individual or team’s skill rating. There are anywhere from 1 to 17 levels in any one event each year depending on the number and skill levels of entries. All levels in open events pay the same amount of money for each place, be it level 1 or level 17.

The association’s Charter Holder members work very hard all year to provide opportunities for their sanctioned players to compete in leagues and become eligible for the annual Team Dart tournament. Approximately 150 NDA operators sent teams to Team Dart this year. Team Dart entry qualifications include being a NDA-sanctioned player and playing at least 96 league games in a specified period for the NDA coin-op vending company who enters the player in the tournament.

Team Dart 2012 kicked off Saturday and Sunday, April 14-15, with Singles and Doubles Cricket and 501. Players had the option of participating in up to 10 events throughout the nine days of competition.

Team Dart 2012 events included:

- Open Singles 501, Levels 1-15
- Open Masters Singles 501 DI/DO, Levels A & B
- Ladies Masters Singles 501 DI/DO
- Open Singles Cricket, Levels 1-17
- Open Masters Singles Cricket, Levels A & B
- Ladies Masters Singles Cricket
- Senior Singles Combo, Levels 1-4
- Open Doubles 501, Levels 1-10
- Open Masters Doubles 501 DI/DO
- Ladies Masters Doubles 501 DI/DO
- Open Doubles Cricket, Levels 1-11
- Open Masters Doubles Cricket
- Ladies Masters Doubles Cricket
- Mixed Doubles Combo, Levels 1-5
- Masters Mixed Doubles Combo
- Mixed Doubles 501, Level 1-4
- Masters Mixed Doubles 501
- Mixed Triples 701, Levels 1-4
- Mixed Masters Triples 701
- Mixed Triples Combo, Level 1-6
- Masters Mixed Triples Combo
- Open Team Cricket, Levels 1-5
- Open Masters Team Cricket
- Open Team 501, Level 1-5
- Open Masters Team 501 DI/DO

An international competition would not be complete without an International Challenge. Teams from Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United States competed Wednesday, April 18, for international bragging rights until next year’s competition. The USA women’s team defeated Canada for first place, and the USA men’s team defeated Germany for first place. A special thanks to Team USA sponsor, Mike Bates with Dart Masters.

Final results for the International Challenge are as follows:

Women’s International Challenge
1st Place - USA
2nd Place - Canada
3rd Place - Germany
4th Place - Spain

Men’s International Challenge
1st Place - USA
2nd Place - Germany
3rd Place - France
4th Place - Spain
5th Place - Canada
6th Place - Italy

Top overall money winners for this year’s event were Carolyn Nessmann with Red’s Novelty, Ltd. from Wisconsin and Scott Miller with Bullseye, Inc. from Illinois.

Top shooters in each level in Team Cricket and 501, with a minimum of 24 games played during the tournament, receive Top Gun awards. This year’s Top Gun recipients are:

Open Team Cricket      
Ben Dersch - tie Masters Bullseye, Inc. Janesville, Wis.
Scott Kirchner - tie Masters Bullseye, Inc. Janesville, Wis.
Luke Statezny Level 1 Fred’s Amusing Games Antigo, Wis.
Pat Kron Level 2 Action Amusement Company, LLC Chesterfield, Mo.
Craig McCorrister Level 3 Aactive Coin Machines, Ltd. Canada
Quint Warner Level 4 Troy Vending Phoenix, Ariz.
Scot Fisher Level 5 Derrick Music Company Red House, W. Va.


Open Team 501      
Scott Kirchner Masters Bullseye, Inc. Janesville, Wis.
Luke Statezny Level 1 Fred’s Amusing Games Antigo, Wis.
Alejandro Rojas Perez Level 2 Billares y Dardos Competicion Spain
Pat Looney Level 3 City Amusement Enterprises Portsmouth, Ohio
Steven Alcorn Level 4 Dolphin Coin, Inc. Meosta, Mich.
Scot Fisher Level 5 Derrick Music Company Red House, W. Va.

During the Wednesday night Team Dart Ceremony and Player Party, the NDA inducted past presidents, Cora Mahoney from Florida and Bernie Marsh from North Dakota, into the NDA Hall of Fame. Their contributions to the NDA are invaluable and deserve to be recognized in a permanent manner. For their dedicated service, Marcia Petersen, NDA President, presented them with Hall of Fame awards.

Also during the Opening Ceremony and Player Party, the NDA thanked its sponsors for their continued support of the tournament and the association. In attendance to accept their awards were Andy Shaffer with the Amusement & Music Operators Association, Sam Zammuto with Arachnid, Inc., Mate Vukoja with Cyberdine d.o.o., Ruben Funosas with Gaelco Darts S.L., Chris Peppard with Medalist Corporation, Helmut Schneller with NSM-Löwen Entertainment and Cathy Scarbrough with Shelti. The following NDA manufacturer sponsors, Arachnid, Inc., Cyberdine d.o.o., Gaelco Darts S.L., Medalist Corporation, NSM-Löwen Entertainment and Shelti, provided 342 dartboards for the tournament floor. It was on these machines that the best of the best battled for the title of World Champion. Manufacturers also provided games in their onsite booth for players to enjoy outside of competition.

The hard work and dedication of the Team Dart Tournament Committee, Administrative and Tournament Staff, Set-up Crew and NDA Certified Referees was also recognized. Honored staff included:

Tournament Committee  

Alvin Gerlach
Maggie Jones

Cora Mahoney
Bernie Marsh
Dawn Orloff-Niesen
Robert Tolliver


Administrative, Tournament Staff and Set-up Crew  
Jamie Ackerman
Patty Arden
Julie Bangs
Chad Bradkorb
Tyler Brown
Britainy Bruce
Britt Bruner
Joan Charlesworth
Bridgett Coughlin
Todd Coughlin
Andrea Cowan
Laura Crafton
Todd Demland
Keri Dorsey
Bill Downall
Vee Dudley
Laura Engledow
Stan Garcia
Jose Maria Gutierrez
Teresa Hammersmith
Tim Hammersmith
Maynard Hoglund
Kevin Huchendorf
Mary Jacobs
Larry Javes
Linda Javes
Phil Johnson
Tina Peck Lew
Lindsey Knight
Maranda Marsh
Marccus Marsh
Marinna Marsh
Marissa Marsh
Maxsonn Marsh
Paulette Marsh
Judy Mehle
Terry Meier
Leslie Murphy
Tim Murphy
Tim Niesen
Traci Noteboom
Alex Nicholson
Scott Orloff
Kim Paugh
Rick Paugh
Marcia Petersen
Christy Piggott
Kathy Pirie
Stefan Reichert
Katie Riggs
Robert Riggs
Michelle Rivera
Patty Salisbury
Brandon Salveson
Dave Schultz
Chris Shea
Diane Shea
Mary Stunkel
Judith Todd
Randy Torres
Fred Tupper
Rhiannon Waltman
Chris Warren
Lloyd Williamson


NDA Certified Referees  

JL Hudson
Bernie Marsh
Marriah Marsh

Randy Oliver
Ponnie Sampson

Shawn Smith
Robert Tolliver

Thanks to MVP Awards, Inc., Laramie Screen Printing and A-Z Darts for their continued support of the NDA and Team Dart.

Team Dart 2013 will be held at Bally’s Las Vegas, April 19-27. Reserve your room by calling 800.634.3434. Watch for details at