AMOA-NDA Hosts Successful Team Dart Tournament

May 19, 2014

INDIANAPOLIS – The AMOA-National Dart Association (NDA) held its 29th annual international soft-tip dart tournament, Team Dart, at Bally’s Las Vegas in Las Vegas, Nev., April 25-May 3. This year Team Dart received more than 10,000 event entrants from players across five countries all competing for over $500,000 in prize money.

The tournament is unique compared to all others in that skill levels range from beginners to masters. All participants are classified into levels according to their individual or team’s skill rating. There are anywhere from one to 14 levels in any one event each year depending on the number and skill levels of entries.

Approximately 140 NDA operator members sent players to Team Dart this year. Team Dart entry qualifications include being a NDA-sanctioned player and playing at least 96 league games in a specified period for the NDA coin-op vending company who enters the player in the tournament. Players had the option of participating in up to 10 events throughout the nine days of competition.

Team Dart is held annually at Bally’s Las Vegas, allowing players to experience Las Vegas at a central location for full vacation benefits. The tournament hall, which is large enough to hold the entire tournament, is located just steps away from Bally’s casino and sleeping rooms.

Team Dart 2014 events included:

·     Open Singles 501, Levels 1-11

·     Open Masters Singles 501 DI/DO, Levels A & B

·     Ladies Masters Singles 501 DI/DO

·     Open Singles Cricket, Levels 1-14

·     Open Masters Singles Cricket, Levels A & B

·     Ladies Masters Singles Cricket

·     Senior Singles Combo, Levels 1-4

·     Open Doubles 501, Levels 1-9

·     Open Masters Doubles 501 DI/DO

·     Ladies Masters Doubles 501 DI/DO

·     Open Doubles Cricket, Levels 1-11

·     Open Masters Doubles Cricket

·     Ladies Masters Doubles Cricket

·     Open Mixed Doubles Cricket, Levels 1-4

·     Masters Mixed Doubles Cricket

·     Mixed Doubles 501, Levels 1-5

·     Masters Mixed Doubles 501

·     Mixed Triples 701, Levels 1-3

·     Mixed Masters Triples 701

·     Mixed Triples Combo, Levels 1-6

·     Masters Mixed Triples Combo

·     Open Team Cricket, Levels 1-5

·     Open Masters Team Cricket

·     Open Team 501, Levels 1-5

·     Open Masters Team 501 DI/DO

An international competition would not be complete without an International Challenge. Teams from Canada, France, Germany, Spain and the United States competed Wednesday, April 30, for international bragging rights until next year’s competition. The USA women’s team defeated Germany for first place, and the USA men’s team defeated France for first place. A special thanks to Team USA sponsor, Mike Bates with Dart Masters.

Final results for the International Challenge are as follows:

Women’s International Challenge

1st Place                        USA

2nd Place                       Germany

3rd Place                       Spain

4th Place                       France

5th Place                       Canada

Men’s International Challenge

1st Place                        USA

2nd Place                       France

3rd Place                       Germany

4th Place                       Canada

5th Place                       Spain

Top overall money winners for this year’s event were Stefanie Richter with DSAB-EV from Germany, and Ben Dersch with Midstate Amusement from Wisconsin.

Top shooters in each level in Team Cricket and Team 501, with a minimum of 24 games played during the tournament, receive Top Gun awards. This year’s Top Gun recipients are:


Open Team 501                                                                                                                    

Darryl Gabriel, Masters, Red’s Novelty, LTD, South Milwaukee, WI

Ric Smith, Level 1, Advance Service, Inc., Kansas City, MO

Steven Richardson, Level 2, Dartz Alpha, Largo, FL

Shane Cade, Level 3, City Amusement Enterprises, Logan, OH

Trever Fedewa, Level 4, Dolphin Coin, Inc., Mt. Pleasant, MI

Josh Schafer, Level 5, Dolphin Coin, Inc., Mt. Pleasant, MI


Open Team Cricket

Willard Bruguier, Masters, Automatic Vendors/Music Service, Pickstown, S.D.

Cory Tkach, Level 1, Aactive Coin Machines, Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Pat Looney, Level 2, City Amusement Enterprises, Portsmouth, OH

Shane Cade, Level 3, City Amusement Enterprises, Logan, OH

Greg Madera, Level 4, Rabbit Darts, Lincoln Park, MI

Kendall Noel, Level 5, B K Enterprises, Inc., Abilene, KS

During the Team Dart President’s Reception the NDA inducted Nancy Hodges and Reggie Horak into the NDA Hall of Fame. Their contributions to the NDA are invaluable and deserve to be recognized in a permanent manner. For their dedicated service, Lloyd Williamson, NDA President, presented them with Hall of Fame awards.

Also, the NDA thanked its sponsors for their continued support of the tournament and the association. In attendance to accept their awards were Bobby Hogin with the Amusement and Music Operators Association, Sam Zammuto with Arachnid, Inc., Vilim Vidanec with Cyberdine d.o.o., Ruben Funosas with Gaelco Darts S.L., Helmut Schneller with NSM-Löwen Entertainment and Adam Lipinski with Shelti. The following NDA manufacturer sponsors, Arachnid, Inc., Cyberdine d.o.o., Gaelco Darts S.L., NSM-Löwen Entertainment and Shelti, provided 312 dartboards for the tournament floor. It was on these machines that the best of the best battled for the title of World Champion. Manufacturers also provided games in their onsite booth for players to enjoy outside of competition.

The hard work and dedication of the Team Dart Tournament Committee, Administrative and Tournament Staff, Set-up Crew and NDA Certified Referees was also recognized. Honored staff included:

Tournament Committee

Alvin Gerlach

Reggie Horak

Maggie Jones

Cora Mahoney

Bernie Marsh

Dawn Orloff-Niesen

Robert Tolliver

Administrative, Tournament Staff and Set-up Crew

Chad Bradkorb
John Bunn
Jackie Clark
Todd Coughlin
Bridgett Coughlin
Stephane Dirand
Keri Dorsey
Bill Downall
Stan Garcia
Alvin Gerlach
Teresa Hammersmith
Mary Jacobs
Pat Joseph
Lindsey Knight
Mary Lavine
Mark Lewis
Robert Lunnar
Maranda Marsh
Marcuss  Marsh
Marinna Marsh
Marissa Marsh
Paulette Marsh
Judy Mehle
Ashley Melek
Leslie Murphy
Tim Murphy
Roe Naylor
Traci Noteboom
Robyn O’Neal
Kim Paugh
Marcia Petersen
Kathy Pirie
Stefan Reichert
Katie Riggs
Diane Shea
Mary Stunkel
Ann Vanderwall
Caroline Voorhest
Rhiannon Waltman
Chris Warren
Lloyd Williamson

NDA Certified Referees

JL Hudson

Terry Markhardt

Bernie Marsh

Marriah Marsh

Randy Oliver

Ponnie Sampson
Shawn Smith

Robert Tolliver

The NDA also thanks MVP Awards, Inc., Discount Custom Apparel and A-Z Darts for their continued support of the association and Team Dart.

Team Dart 2015, the 30th anniversary, will be held at Bally’s Las Vegas, May 1-9. Reserve your room by calling 800.634.3434. Watch for details at


The NDA is an international trade association of coin-operated vending companies representing approximately 250 members and 48,000 players worldwide. The NDA was formed by and for coin machine operators to promote the sport of electronic darting exclusively on operator-owned equipment. The Association offers a variety of programs, materials and supplies to support its members in increasing the profitability of their dart operations. The NDA and Team Dart is sponsored by the Amusement and Music Operators Association (AMOA), Arachnid, Inc., Cyberdine d.o.o., Gaelco Darts S.L., NSM-Löwen Entertainment and Shelti. 

For more information about membership in the NDA, its annual international Team Dart competition or biennial League SMART educational conference, contact Kim Paugh, CAE, Associate Executive Director at 800.808.9884, or visit the NDA website at