Team Dart at Bally's a Success

May 19, 2011

Soft-tip dart players across the world gathered at Bally’s in Las Vegas, Nev. for the AMOA-National Dart Association’s (NDA) Team Dart 2011, held April 29- May 7. This year, Team Dart boasted more than 14,000 event entrants from seven countries competing for over $500,000 in prize money.

Unique from other tournaments, the NDA prides itself on offering a tournament for players of all skill levels ranging from beginners to professionals. All participants are classified into levels according to their individual or team’s skill rating. In fact, there are anywhere from 1 to 21 levels in any one event each year depending on the number and skill levels of entries. All levels in Open events pay the same amount of money for each place, be it Level 1 or Level 21.

The association’s operator members work very hard all year to provide opportunities for their sanctioned players to compete in leagues and become eligible for the annual Team Dart tournament. Approximately 166 NDA operators sent teams to Team Dart this year. Team Dart entry qualifications include being a NDA-sanctioned player and playing at least 96 league games in a specified period for the NDA coin-op vending company who enters the player in the tournament.

Team Dart 2011 kicked off Saturday and Sunday, April 29-30, with Singles and Doubles Cricket and 501. Players had the option of participating in up to 10 events throughout the nine days of competition.

Team Dart 2011 events included:

  • Open Singles 501, Levels 1-18
  • Open Masters Singles 501 DI/DO, Levels A & B
  • Ladies Masters Singles 501 DI/DO
  • Open Singles Cricket, Levels 1-21
  • Open Masters Singles Cricket, Levels A & B
  • Ladies Masters Singles Cricket
  • Senior Singles Combo, Levels 1-4
  • Open Doubles 501, Levels 1-12
  • Open Masters Doubles 501 DI/DO
  • Ladies Masters Doubles 501 DI/DO
  • Open Doubles Cricket, Levels 1-13
  • Open Masters Doubles Cricket
  • Ladies Masters Doubles Cricket
  • Mixed Doubles Combo, Levels 1-5
  • Masters Mixed Doubles Combo
  • Mixed Doubles 501, Level 1-5
  • Masters Mixed Doubles 501
  • Mixed Triples 701, Levels 1-4
  • Mixed Masters Triples 701
  • Mixed Triples Combo, Level 1-6
  • Masters Mixed Triples Combo
  • Open Team Cricket, Levels 1-5
  • Open Masters Team Cricket
  • Ladies Masters Team Cricket
  • Open Team 501, Level 1-5
  • Open Masters Team 501 DI/DO
  • Ladies Masters Team 501 DI/DO

An international competition would not be complete without an International Challenge. Teams from Canada, France, Germany, Spain and the United States competed Wednesday, May 4, for international bragging rights until next year’s competition. The German women’s team defeated Spain, taking the title for the second year, and the USA men’s team defeated France. A special thanks to Team USA sponsor, Mike Bates with Dart Masters.

Final results for the International Challenge are as follows:

Women’s International Challenge

1st Place: Germany

2nd Place: Spain

3rd Place: USA

4th Place: Canada

Men’s International Challenge

1st Place: USA

2nd Place: France

3rd Place: Germany

4th Place: Canada

5th Place: Spain

Top overall money winners for this year’s event were Ben Dersch with Bullseye, Inc. in Wisconsin and Stacy Bromberg with D & B Electronic Darts in Nevada.

Top shooters in each level in Team Cricket and 501, with a minimum of 24 games played during the tournament, receive Top Gun awards. This year’s Top Gun recipients are:

Open Team Cricket

Scott Miller Masters    Bullseye, Inc Madison, Wis.     
Carolyn Nessmann Ladies Masters Sam’s Amusement Company Kenosha, Wis.
Kevin Luke    Level 1  AJ’s Entertainment  West Richland, Wash.
Rick Reddell      Level 2    Darts Plus, LLC Overland Parks, Kan.
Paul Krenz  Level 3 Aactive Coin Machines, Ltd. Canada
Donnie Holden  Level 4      NTS  

Omaha, Neb.

Casey Rau Level 5     VVS, Inc.  Lincoln, Neb.

Open Team 501

Scott Miller     Masters    Bullseye, Inc.  Madison, Wis.
Lisa Yee   Ladies Masters Troy Vending  Phoenix, Ariz.
Paul Boleu   Level 1   Bumpers, Inc. Spokane, Wash.
Chris Morgan    Level 2  Bumpers, Inc. Spokane, Wash.
Billy White, Jr. Level 3 Darts R Fun   El Cajon, Calif.
Troy Royaux   Level 4 France Darts


Max Lovejoy Level 5  Dolphin Coin, Inc.   Mt. Pleasant, Mich.

During the Wednesday night Opening Ceremony and Player Party, the NDA inducted Jim Stansfield of Stansfield Vending and Bob Wiles of Arachnid, Inc., into the NDA Hall of Fame. Their contributions to the NDA are invaluable and deserve to be recognized at the highest level. For their dedicated service, Maggie Jones, NDA President, presented them with Hall of Fame awards.

Also during the Opening Ceremony and Player Party, the NDA thanked its sponsors for their continued support of the tournament and the association. In attendance to accept their awards were Donovan Fremin with the Amusement & Music Operators Association, Sam Zammuto with Arachnid, Inc., Mate Vukoja with Cyberdine d.o.o., Jose Maria Cervera with Gaelco Darts S.L., Chris Peppard with Medalist Corporation, Helmut Schneller with NSM-Löwen Entertainment and Cathy Scarbrough with Shelti. The following NDA manufacturer sponsors, Arachnid, Inc., Cyberdine d.o.o., Gaelco Darts S.L., Medalist Corporation, NSM-Löwen Entertainment and Shelti, provided 324 dartboards for the tournament floor. It was on these machines that the best of the best battled for the title of World Champion. Manufacturers also provided games in their onsite booth for players to enjoy outside of competition.

The hard work and dedication of the Team Dart Tournament Committee, Administrative and Tournament Staff, Set-up Crew and NDA Certified Referees was also recognized. Honored staff included:

Tournament Committee

Reggie Horak
Maggie Jones
Cora Mahoney

Bernie Marsh
Larry McEntire

Dawn Orloff-Niesen
Robert Tolliver

Administrative and Tournament Staff and Set-up Crew

Julie Bangs
Guin Black
Tyler Brown
Britt Bruner
Larry Buckwalter
Bridgett Coughlin
Andrea Cowan
Kevin Darke
Todd Demland
Stephane Dirand
Keri Dorsey
Bill Downall
Vee Dudley
Stan Garcia
Alvin Gerlach
Chris Grieman
Howard Grimm
Teresa Hammersmith
Sonja Harper
Bryson Henderson
Liz Hogan
Craig Hoglund

Kevin Huchendorf
Larry Javes
Mary Jacobs
Georgene Jessen
Audra Lavery
Maranda Marsh
Marccus Marsh
Marinna Marsh
Marissa Marsh
Maxsonn Marsh
Paulette Marsh
Judy Mehle
Terry Meier
Leslie Murphy
Tim Murphy
Tim Niesen
Ora Norris
Molly Noonan
Traci Noteboom
Kim Paugh
Marcia Petersen
Christy Piggott

Kathy Pirie
Alyssa Pfennig
Stefan Reichert
Robert Riggs
Eric Rohr
Daniel Russel
Patty Salisbury
Ponnie Sampson
Dave Schultz
Christopher Shea
Diane Shea
Elizabeth Sowinski
Randy Torres
Fred Tupper
Austin Vance
Katie Voorhest
Rhiannon Waltman
Chris Warren
Lloyd Williamson


NDA Certified Referees

J.L. Hudson
Bernie Marsh
Marriah Marsh

Larry McEntire
Randy Oliver
Ponnie Sampson

Shawn Smith
Robert Tolliver

Thanks to MVP Awards, Inc., Laramie Screen Printing and A-Z Darts for their continued support of the NDA and Team Dart.

Team Dart 2012 will be held at Bally’s Las Vegas, April 13-21. Reserve your room by calling 800.634.3434. Watch for details at